The Flute (major blog post assignment)

  • The flute is a major part of my life. It has helped shape me into the person I have become today. From it I have learned to appreciate more types of music, as well as become a way for me to de-stress and explore another part of me. When I first began playing and discovered the flute I was in 4th grade. That year I started band and by January I wanted to quit. It was six months of trying and trying before I finally was able to make a sound that came out pure and untouched. Most of the year I squeaked in every song trying to stay as quite as possible, and basically invisible, so I couldn’t be recognized as the one who messed up all the time. I remember when my first sound came out, the sense of pride and accomplishment that I felt. After that I only got better. Each year my skills just added on and on, and now six years later I know all the scales and can play them by heart. Now that I have been playing flute for so long I hope to explore other instruments and start to play more different types such as the:
  • saxophone
  • trumpet
  • drums
  • clarinet    for more info look here: http://www.orsymphony.org/edu/instruments/popups/flute.html
  • lg-3b_1B, Ian. Flutes. Photograph. Flickr. Flickr. 20 Sept, 2010. 12 Jan, 2016.        https://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/

flute

Laurarama, Flute. Photograph. Flickr. Flickr. 7 August, 2011. 12 Jan, 2016

https://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/

2 Thoughts.

  1. Hey Nardos, I think it’s great you have a hobby that connects to music. I relate to this because cello is a major part of my life and I spend a lot of time playing and studying. What kind of pieces do you play?

    • Oh hi Emma, I mostly play whatever my flute teacher gives me but every now and then I may want to play a bit more (not often) and I find a piece I might be interested in. It could be either a theme song from a movie, or something that I just stumbled upon and wanted to try. If you want to know more I have some links I could share with you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar